Roxby Council
Email Us

Councils must raise revenue for governance and administration, which deliver goods and services to the community. Council’s major source of municipal revenue is Rates, derived as a tax on land within the Council area.

All land within a council area, except for land specifically exempt (e.g. crown land, council occupied land and other land prescribed in the Local Government Act 1999) is rateable. The Local Government Act 1999 provides for a Council to raise revenue for the broad purposes of the Council through a general rate, which applies to all rateable properties, or through differential general rates, which apply to categories of land use and/or locality. In addition, Council can raise separate rates, for specific areas of the Council or service rates or charges for specific services.

July 2017 - June 2018

MUNICIPAL RATES Declared for 2017/2018

GST is not applicable to Municipal Rates and are effective from 1 July each year

Differential Rate - Residential Land cents in the $ per Capital Value 0.6056
Differential Rate - Commercial (Shops, Office & Other cents in the $ per Capital Value 1.6683
Differential Rate - Industry (Light, Other) & Primary Industry cents in the $ per Capital Value 1.3926
Differential Rate - Vacant Land cents in the $ per Capital Value 1.2634
Other cents in the $ per Capital Value 1.2799
Fixed Charge per rateable property   $680.00
Service Charge per rateable property which the Council makes available  for the collection, treatment and disposal of domestic waste service   $458.00
NRM Levy per rateable property   $60.70

Paying your Rates

Rates can be made by a single payment prior to the first quarter due date or by quarterly instalments, which are set by Council resolution generally in the months of October, December, March and June. The total outstanding balance of rates may be paid in full at any time. Council will send out instalment notices to ratepayers advising them of their next instalment due date at least 30 days prior to the due date.

Rates may be paid:
  • By using the BPAY service through participating banks;
  • By mail by posting a cheque to PO Box 124, Roxby Downs 5725; or
  • In person, at the Council office, Richardson Place, Roxby Downs 5725 SA (during business hours
  • By Credit Card in person or by Phone 08 8671 0010

EFTPOS facilities are available for over the counter payments.

Penalties do apply to outstanding rates therefore any ratepayer who may, or is likely to, experience difficulty with meeting the standard payment requirements, or is planning an extended absence at the time rates are due is invited to contact our Rates Officer on 08 8671 0010 to discuss alternative payment arrangements. The Council treats such inquiries confidentially.

Rates are due:
  • 18 September 2017
  • 18 December 2017
  • 19 March 2018
  • 18 June 2018

2017-2018 Documents & Forms

31 July 2017 - Annual Business Plan & Budget Summary 2017-18(1707 kb)

FY18 ABP&B Summary_Page_2

Annual Business Plan 2017/18 - Annual Business Plan with Budget 2017-18(1965 kb)

 Annual Business Plan with Budget 2017-18 (doc)




Contact Council

6 Richardson Place

Roxby Downs SA 5725

Monday to Friday

9.00am - 5.00pm

Closed Public Holidays

PO Box 124

Roxby Downs SA 5725

Phone: (08) 8671 0010

Fax: (08) 8671 0452

Email Us

Roxby Downs South Australia